Smoothies and Phone Backgrounds…I like it

Time to dump off some of my massive collection of wallpapers I’ve accumulated by obsessive scrolling through Pinterest after I get home from work. These are all of my favorite patterned wallpapers I have on my phone, the links to each one are below the photos.

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10

I’m sitting here posting these whilst listening to Billy Joel’s “Piano Man” and sipping on my acai-berry smoothie (Did I seem fancy there or what?). I love acai, and I’m now totally obsessed with it because you can buy PACKS OF ACAI AT THE STORE AND JUST PUT IT IN THE BLENDER AND YOU HAVE A SMOOTHIE OR ACAI BOWL.  What a concept. They’re around $5 for four individual acai packets. If you don’t know what acai is, you can read about it here.

ACAI IS THE BEST!Essentially, the acai berry is a highly nutritious berry that grows on a tall thin palm in the Amazon– the majority of the berry is made up of seeds that are pounded and pulverized into the thick purple puree we put into smoothies and bowls. They’re filled with organic plant compounds, antioxidants, protein, omega fats, and essential amino acids. Acai eventually made its way over into Brazil in the 70’s, where it exploded in popularity with Brazilian surfers and fitness enthusiasts. Then finally, in the 2000’s organic pulp acai first came to the U.S. and found homes in Hawaii and Southern California. I had my first acai bowl in Hawaii and was in love at the first bite.

Want a fun, protein and anti-oxidant-packed acai bowl? Here’s how to make one:

Perfect Peanut Butter Acai Bowl

Ingredients:

1 cup almond milk (or whatever you prefer, you can even use juice)

1 tbsp organic peanut butter

1 packet frozen acai

1 1/2 c berries of choice

1 tbsp of granola (or more if you’re feeling frisky)

any nuts or seeds you love to top it off

honey

Directions:

In a blender, blend peanut butter, acai packet, almond milk, and 1 cup of the berries in a blender and blend until completely smooth. Pour into your bowl and top with granola, seeds, nuts, berries and a drizzle of honey. 

ENJOY THE DELICIOUSNESS IMMEDIATELY

 

Here is my source for all my information on acai 🙂

Leave a Reply

